Cookies on this website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Accept all cookies' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. If you click 'Reject all non-essential cookies' only necessary cookies providing core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility will be enabled. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

The winners of the 2021 sixth-form prize in medicine are Lucy Addis and Rosa Morgan-Young.

Gold star trophy award against blue background

Lucy Addis and Rosa Morgan-Young have been announced as the winners of the 2021 sixth-form prize in medicine. Their prize includes a 7-day work-experience placement within the Major Trauma Centre, Oxford.

Verdant Bhardwaj and Sakshi Dutta were the runners up and will be able to cite their prize on future applications as they pursue their studies.

The sixth-form prize in medicine is an annual competition for Year 12 (Lower 6th) students from across the UK who are considering applying to study medicine. An essay competition, this year's topic was: "Sometimes when the broken bone heals, the trauma continues". Applicants were asked to discuss the possible biopsyhchosocial effects of orthopaedic trauma in the first year after injury.

Prof Steve Gwilym, Associate Professor in Orthopaedics, University of Oxford said: "I'm delighted that this access-initiative is proving so popular. This is the third year we have run the prize and each year we have seen an increased number of applicants from a wider geography. This year we received over 50 essays and the insights they demonstrated were really very impressive. The applications were overwhelmingly from female students, so we hope to encourage more male applicants next year to level the balance. Winners will be encouraged to use this prize on their UCAS applications and will be invited to visit Oxford for a period of work experience."

The competition is open to all students currently studying at a state-funded school, college or sixth-form. This prize is hosted jointly by the University of Oxford and Oxford University Hospitals NHS foundation trust.